July 2018 @ The Rog

Enso Daiko

Sunday, July 1
Creative Crossroads: Taiko Traditions


"Creative Crossroads" is our new initiative for the Summer Entertainment: Live @ The Rog concert series. We will continue to feature a different world region each week, now with the goal of illustrating similarities and differences across cultures through comparable performance styles. (For example, compare the drumming styles of West Africa, Japanese Taiko, and Caribbean steel drum music.) In addition, the former Mosquito Bluegrass Jam will be replaced with the broader theme of "Made in America." This will give us the opportunity to feature a wider assortment of performance styles originating in the United States. 

Taiko Traditions flyer

Brio Brass

Tuesday, July 3


Roseville Big Band with dancers
The Pan-handlers

Sunday, July 8
Creative Crossroads: Tropical Paradise
 

6-8pm   Pan-handlers Steel Drum Band

Tropical Paradise flyer

Tuesday, July 10


Middle Spunk Creek Boys
Lee Engele and friends

Thursday, July 12 - RESCHEDULED TO 8/14

Sunday, July 15

 Creative Crossroads: Sounds of Africa

Includes dance instruction.

Sounds of Africa flyer

Duniya drummer and kids
Bill and Kate Isles

Tuesday, July 17



Thursday, July 19


  • University of Minnesota Summer Band

 

Sunday, July 22
Creative Crossroads: Latin Rhythms


Includes dance instruction.

Latin Rhythms flyer
La Clave Orchestra
Community Band

Tuesday, July 24


Thursday, July 26

  • 7:00 pm   Twin Cities Horn Club

Sunday, July 29
Creative Crossroads: Glimpse into Russia


  • 6-8pm  Russian Folk Ensemble
Includes dance instruction.
Glimpse into Russia flyer 

 

Russian Folk Ensemble

Tuesday, July 31

  • 7pm   Roseville Big Band

 No dance instruction, but dancing is encouraged!